Bulletin Board - Current News


 Head Coach:
Justin Wrigley - Distance and Relays --- jwrigley@stasaints.net 
Event Coaches:
Rick Hetzel - High Jump --- rhetzel@stasaints.net 
Justin Hickey - Pole Vault --- jhickey.tech@gmail.com 
Dillen Jackle - Shot Put and Discus --- dillenjackle@gmail.com 
Michael Lewis - Long and Triple Jumps --- michaellewis7@yahoo.com
Jacob Lattimer - Javelin --- jacoblattimer@gmail.com 
Dinsdale Morgan - Sprints, Hurdles and Relays --- dinsdalemorgan@yahoo.com  
Bryan Thelen - Distance --- bthelen@stasaints.net 
 
Team Expectations: 
Anyone is welcome to join the team but in order to stay on the team you...
  • Must show up on time and be present every day. 
  • Must have a desire to get better and work at it daily.
  • Must be a good teammate and make a positive contribution to the team. 
  • Must communicate with Coach Thelen and your event coach any possible conflicts.
 

 Championship History
 
Boys - 2003, 2016, 2017 
Girls - 2006, 2008, 2012, 2014
 
State Runners-up
Boys - 2002, 1996
Girls - 2007, 2015
 
Regional Champions
Boys - 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2006, 2016, 2017
Girls - 1989, 1995, 1998, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2012
 
EKL Champions
Boys - 1995, 1996, 1997, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2009, 2017
Girls - 1995, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

THE ATTITUDE OF A CHAMPION: 
In the spring of 2003 a sophomore boy named Jason Collett ran an incredibly tough and gutsy 1600m race at the very competitive Shawnee Mission North Relays.  Despite his tremendous effort Jason was out-kicked by a Blue Valley West senior named Paul Heffron. Heffron was a multiple time state champion and went on to become an NCAA All-American at KU.  When the race was over Jason was very disappointed in losing such a tough, close race.  In an attempt to console him, I told Jason that it was okay and that he was only a sophomore so it's not so bad losing to the best runner in the state.  Instantly, Jason whirled around and screamed at me, "I'M THE BEST RUNNER IN THE STATE!!!"  Jason went on to win two state titles in the 800m and was an NCAA All-American at K-State. His 1:52.35 is one of the top times in Kansas history and was one of the best times in America that year.  It was Jason's fierce competitive spirit that made him such a great athlete at Saint Thomas Aquinas and at Kansas State.  Do you have the attitude of a champion?